Match reaction: Newcastle Falcons 29-21 London Irish

111749-internet-broken

Sunday 10 November 2013 – 3.00pm

Kingston Park, Newcastle

LV= Cup Pools 1 and 4 #1

So we didn’t go to bingo night on Saturday in the end, and I wasn’t needed on the farm yesterday afternoon, so at 2.45pm I settled on the sofa with a can of Carling and flipped on the commentary on the internet. Fortunately, it seemed, the internet had started working again after being off for most of the weekend.

Just as Smithy introduced the minute’s silence (I think), it went off again, and the internet hasn’t worked since. Pretty annoying, and I sulked off to the garage to chop kindling for the fire. With no mobile signal, I couldn’t even follow Twitter. Fortunately, at the in-laws’ place there is a sliver of a signal and I was able to see the full-time score – excellent!

So I’m going just on fans’ opinions and internet reports here. It seems it was another case of the best forwards on the field beating the best backs – I’ve never been a slavish believer in “the forwards win the games, the backs decide by how much” but thank heavens for our pack so far this season.

It’s disappointing to hear that Zach Kibirige didn’t get much ball on his first game of the season, it wouldn’t seem there was much point in him playing then. I would also liked to have seen J0el Hodgson get a run-out, as suggested in the Journal this morning he must be scratching his head.

But on the other hand the team overall did enough and that’s always a good sign, even if the backs are continuing to misfire. James Fitzpatrick has had good reviews, he’s a player I quite like when he gets it right so hopefully he can get some form together now after a tricky year in the Championship.

Not much more I can say really, as I don’t know much about the match.

Just looking at the group table, we are second on points scored. Northampton are top with five points having hammered Gloucester, then we are next on four with Scarlets who beat fellow Welshmen Newport Gwent Dragons 21-13. Bottom are Wasps, who were downed by Saracens but got a losing bonus point.

It’s Gloucester away next and for myself a ten-hour round-trip on the train on Saturday. Guess I’ll find out how so many fans have felt over the years on lengthy coach trips.

And while most clubs might not lose any sleep over qualifying for the semis in this cup, I like a cup run so hopefully we can repeat our last visit to Kingsholm and get a win.

 
(Follow The South Stand Choir on Twitter: @SouthStandChoir)

Leave a Reply

